Major Championships

Major Golf Championships

In professional golf, players plan their year around the four Major Golf Championships that are held at regular intervals throughout the calendar year. These are the tournaments that every player in the world wants to win and the amount of 'majors' won often decide his greatness in the game.

Currently it is Jack Nicklaus with 18 Major titles, who has the most but he is being hotly chased down by a certain Tiger Woods who is not far behind on 14.

Three of the four Majors are played in the US with just the original 'Major' the Open Championship being played in the UK. .

Recent Major Championship Winners

Year Tournament Winner
2017 US Open Brooks Koepka
2017 US Masters Sergio Garcia
2016 US PGA Championship Jimmy Walker
2016 Open Championship Henrik Stenson
2016 US Open Dustin Johnson
2016 US Masters Danny Willett
2015 US PGA Championship Jason Day
2015 Open Championship Zach Johnson
2015 US Open Jordan Spieth
2015 US Masters Jordan Spieth
2014 US PGA Championship Rory McIlroy
2014 Open Championship Rory McIlroy
2014 US Open Martin Kaymer
2014 US Masters Bubba Watson
2013 US PGA Championship Jason Dufner
2013 Open Championship Phil Mickelson
2013 US Open Justin Rose
2013 US Masters Adam Scott
2012 US PGA Championship Rory McIlroy
2012 Open Championship Ernie Els
2012 US Open Webb Simpson
2012 US Masters Bubba Watson
2011 US PGA Championship Keegan Bradley
2011 Open Championship Darren Clarke
2011 US Open Rory McIlroy
2011 US Masters Charl Schwartzel
2010 US PGA Championship Martin Kaymer
2010 Open Championship Louis Oosthuizen
2010 US Open Graeme McDowell
2010 US Masters Phil Mickelson

US Masters

The US Masters is played at Augusta National in Georgia and has been the scene of some of the great moments in golfing history. Tiger Woods won his first Major Championship at Augusta at the age of just 21, and Jack Nicklaus won his 18th Major here at the age of 46 making him the oldest player to win the event.

US Open

The US Open is often the toughest of the four Majors with the organisers deliberately setting the course up to be as difficult as possible for the competitors. Frequently the tournament is one with an over par score no matter what course the event is played on which makes it a great viewing spectacle. It is an event that is nearly always won by Americans with Europeans in particular struggling in the US Open.

However that trend was changed in 2010 when Graeme McDowell from Northern Ireland won by 1 shot from Frenchman, Gregory Havret. Third home was South African Ernie Els, twice a winner himself of this event. It was the first time ever that an American had failed to finish in the first three. In winning McDowell became the first European since Tony Jacklin in 1970 to win.

The British Open Championship

The British Open Championship has been the scene of some of golfs great memories over the years with some classic duels living long in the memory. Turnberry in 1977 played host to the infamous Duel in the Sun which saw Jack Nicklaus and Tom Watson go head-to-head down the back nine in a legendary contest. In the end it was Watson who triumphed but it was a great sporting moment that lives in the memory.

Tom Watson went on to win five Open Championships in total and almost made it six in 2009 at the age of 59, when once again he was back at Turnberry, this time losing in a play-off duel with fellow American Stewart Cink.

US PGA Championships

The venue for the USPGA Championship changes each year and the fourth major of the season typically takes place during August. There have been numerous different winners over the years, with Martin Kaymer and Jason Dufner both claiming the title in recent editions.

Golf Player
Free Bets