Royal Birkdale Golf Club

The Open Championship will be held at the Royal Birkdale Golf Club in Southport, England, in 2017. Taking place from 20th to 23rd July, it promises to be wonderful occasion as it will the tenth time that the major has been held at this venue.

Birkdale first hosted The Open in 1954 when Peter Thomas won the title, while Padraig Harrington won his second Open title most recently in 2008.

Get a free bet on the British Open.

Royal Birkdale Past Winners

Here is a list of the past winners of the British Open when it has been held at the Royal Birkdale Golf Club:

Year Winner Nationality
1954 Peter Thomson Australia
1961 Arnold Palmer USA
1965 Peter Thomson Australia
1971 Lee Trevino USA
1976 Johnny Miller USA
1983 Tom Watson USA
1991 Ian Baker-Finch Australia
1998 Mark O'Meara USA
2008 Padraig Harrington Ireland
2017 - -

Get the latest odds on the British Open.

Royal Birkdale

The venue was founded as Birkdale Golf Club in 1889 before it was awarded 'Royal' status in 1951. The course in Southport went on to host The Open for the first time in 1954 and it has since hosted the Ryder Cup twice, in 1965 and 1969.

Check out our hole-by-hole guide to Royal Birkdale.

Golf Player
Free Bets