Royal St George's

Royal St George's

The 140th edition of the British Open will be held at Royal St George's in Sandwich, Kent. It is the fourteenth time the major will be held at the famous course and it remains as popular as ever with golfing enthusiasts.

Founded in 1887, the course was famous for becoming the first course outside of Scotland to host the British Open and it was also infamous for being a notoriously difficult course to negotiate. Some serious modifications in the 20th century have made it much more manageable, although it does still boast the deepest bunker in championship golf at the fourth hole.

Past winners of the Open at Sandwich include Sandy Lyle, Greg Norman and Ben Curtis, and 2011 promises to be another great renewal of the third major of the season at the famous old course.

Get a free bet on the British Open.

Royal St George's Past Winners

Here is a list of the past winners of the British Open when it has been held at the Royal St George's Golf Club in Sandwich, Kent:

1894J.H. TaylorEngland326
1899Harry VardonJersey310
1904Jack WhiteScotland296
1911Harry VardonJersey303
1922Walter HagenUSA300
1928Walter HagenUSA292
1934Henry CottonEngland283
1938Reg WhitcombeEngland295
1949Bobby LockeSouth Africa283 (-5)
1981Bill RogersUSA276 (-4)
1985Sandy LyleScotland282 (+2)
1993Greg NormanAustralia267 (-13)
2003Ben CurtisUSA283 (-1)

Lee Westwood heads the betting for the 2011 British Open and is favourite to win on British soil at Royal St George's...

Get the latest odds on the British Open.

Royal St George's Directions

View Larger Map

Golf Player
Free Bets