Royal Troon Golf Club

Royal Troon Golf Club

The Open Championship will be held at the Royal Troon Golf Club in South Ayrshire, Scotland, in 2016. Taking place from 14th to 17th July, it promises to be a special occasion at this prestigious old course as it prepares to host the British Open for a ninth time.

You can find out who has won here previously below and it is perhaps worth noting for betting purposes that the last six Open champions at Troon have hailed from the United States of America.

Get a free bet on the British Open.

Royal Troon Past Winners

Here is a list of the past winners of the British Open when it has been held at the Old Course at Royal Troon:

Year Winner Nationality
1923 Arthur Havers England
1950 Bobby Locke South Africa
1962 Arnold Palmer United States
1973 Tomas Weiskopf United States
1982 Tom Watson United States
1989 Mark Calcavecchia United States
1997 Justin Leonard United States
2004 Todd Hamilton United States
2016 Henrik Stenson Sweden

Get the latest odds on the British Open.

The Old Course

This seaside links course was founded in 1878 and it was granted a 'Royal' accolade in 1978. Since then it has hosted Open Championships, Senior British Open and The Amateur Open, while it is also home to the shorrtse hole (the 'Postage Stamp') and the longest hole (Turnberry) in Open Championship golf.

Check out our hole by hole guide to Royal Troon.

Golf Player
Free Bets