Carnoustie Golf Links

Carnoustie Golf Links

The Open Championship will head to Angus, Scotland, in 2018 as the prestigious Carnoustie Golf Links will host the third major of the calendar year. It promises to be a wonderful event and it will be the eighth time that Carnoustie has hosted The Open.

Carnoustie Past Winners

There have been seven previous winners of The Open Championship at Carnoustie and you can the year, as well as the champions, in our comprehensive table below:

Year Winner Nationality
1931 Tommy Armour USA
1937 Henry Cotton England
1953 Ben Hogan USA
1968 Gary Players South Africa
1975 Tom Watson USA
1999 Paul Lawrie Scotland
2007 Padraig Harrington Ireland
2018 - -


Carnoustie is one of the most historic and treasured golf courses in the world and golf was reportedly played there as early as the 16th century. It has gone on to become a key component in the course rotation for The Open Championship and it first held The Open in 1931, when Tommy Armour emerged victorious.

The course has also hosted the Women's British Open, which was one by Yani Tseng in 2011, and two editions of the Senior British Open - Bernhard Langer won in 2010 and Paul Broadhurst was victorious in 2016.